The Case Centre Awards and Competitions 2020

By continuing to use our site you consent to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy unless you have disabled them.
You can change your cookie settings at any time but parts of our site will not function correctly without them.

We are delighted to announce the winners of our 30th annual Awards and Competitions, celebrating excellence in case writing and teaching at schools of business, management and government worldwide.

The 2020 results are characterised by increasing diversity, especially in numbers of women achieving success, and also by record numbers of individuals and institutions winning their first Award or Competition. Check out our infographic below to find out more.

Congratulations to all our winners! We hope you enjoy finding out more about them.

Winners in full

Competition winners

Outstanding contribution 2020: Caren Scheepers

Gordon Institute of Business Science, University of Pretoria

Outstanding case teacher 2020: Urs Mueller

SDA Bocconi School of Management

Steven Sweldens, Stefano Puntoni, Niela Kleinsmith and Tao Yue, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
Matthieu Campion, TomTom Automotive

'Diversity and Discrimination'

Zoe Kinias and Felicia A Henderson, INSEAD

New crocus flowers

Alexander Korchagin, Independent author
Vera Cherepanova, Studio Etica

Award winners

Herminia Ibarra, Aneeta Rattan and Anna Johnston
London Business School

Peter Debaere
University of Virginia Darden School of Business

Horacio Falcão and Heather Grover, INSEAD
Kriti Jain, IE Business School

Marco Di Maggio
Harvard Business School

Adam Smale, University of Vaasa
Ingmar Björkman and Johanna Saarinen, Aalto University School of Business

Ayelet Israeli and Jill Avery
Harvard Business School

Debapratim Purkayastha and Adapa Srinivasa Rao
ICFAI Business School (IBS)

W Chan Kim, Renée Mauborgne and Michael Olenick

What's trending?

2020 reflects growing diversity in business education. For the first time there are equal numbers of male and female Award/Competition winners: 17 male and 17 female. The preceding four years averaged just 29% of female winners

The results also showcase advancing female diversity in case protagonists across the Awards – now at a record 31%.

There were a record nine first-time, winning institutions (in 2019: five), and a record 22 first-time, individual faculty/research winners (in 2019: 18).

What's trending - awards infographic

About the awards and competitions