ecch Case Awards 2011

Presentation to IMD winning authors

In an award ceremony held at IMD’s campus on 17 May 2011, ecch Director Richard McCracken presented four ecch Case Awards to IMD faculty members and case writers. The ceremony was opened by Professor Anand Narasimhan, IMD's representative on the ecch Executive Committee.

Anand Narasimhan


Professor Kamran Kashani and Inna Francis won in the marketing category for their case entitled Xiameter: The Past and Future of a 'Disruptive Innovation'.

Richard McCracken & Inna Francis   Inna Francis & Kamran Kashani


Professor Carlos Cordon, Professor Ralf Seifert and Edwin Wellian won in the production and operations management category for their case Lego: Consolidating Distribution (A).

Richard McCracken, Carlos Cordon, Ralf Seifert & Edwin Wellian   Carlos Cordon & Ralf Seifert


This year’s 'Hot topic' category focused on the subject of renewable and sustainable energy, technology and development. The honor was given to Professor George Kohlrieser, Professor Francisco Szekely and Sophie Coughlan for their case Playing to Win: Leadership and Sustainability at ESB Electric Utility.

Sophie Coughlan, George Kohlreiser & Francisco Szekely   Richard McCracken, Sophie Coughlan, George Kohlreiser & Francisco Szekely


Professor Kashani was also recognized by the ecch for outstanding contribution to the case method. It marked the first time that ecch has granted such an award.

Richard McCracken & Kamran Kashani   Kamran Kashani


View photos from the awards presentions to authors from:

Share this page:

Do you have star quality?

Awards hands clapping

Take part in our annual awards and competitions and compete against the best in the world.

Our awards are presented to the most widely used cases across the globe in the past year in nine management categories and a free case category. We also present an Overall Winner Award, and Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award.

Our competitions celebrate exceptional case writers, first-time case writers; the best case in our ‘hot topic’ category; a remarkable compact case; and outstanding case teaching achievements.

View our 2018 winners