The Case Centre Awards 2015

Outstanding New Case Writer 2015 receives winning trophy


The Case Centre’s Deputy Director, Vicky Lester, with our competition winner, Laurel Austin

Alt text

The winner of our hotly contested Outstanding New Case Writer Competition 2015 was presented with her trophy by Vicky Lester, The Case Centre’s Deputy Director, at a special ceremony held at Copenhagen Business School.

Vicky congratulated Laurel Austin, an Associate Professor at the School, for winning the competition with her case, UCSD: A Cancer Cluster in the Literature Building.

‘Our judges were enormously impressed by its sophistication and the clarity with which it tackles a hugely complex challenge,’ said Vicky.

‘Our judges also admired the precision of the learning objective: to appreciate how automatic, intuitive thinking biases our risk perceptions – sometimes at enormous emotional and financial cost – and of the need to develop strategies to counteract this bias.


Left to right: Vice Dean, Teaching, Annemette Kjaergaard, Laurel Austin, and Department Head, Lotte Jensen

Alt text

‘We received many entries of an extremely high standard from first-time case writers across the world, but this case really stood out for our judges.’

The event, which took place at the School’s Department of Management, Politics and Philosophy, was hosted by the Head of Department, Lotte Jensen, and Associate Dean, Annemette Kjaergaard, who  spoke about Copenhagen Business School’s commitment to teaching and learning. Department faculty also attended and a celebratory brunch helped to mark the occasion.

Laurel discusses winning the Outstanding New Case Writer Competition:

See all the prize winners


Share this page:

Do you have star quality?

Awards hands clapping

Take part in our annual awards and competitions and compete against the best in the world.

Our awards are presented to the most widely used cases across the globe in the past year in nine management categories and a free case category. We also present an Overall Winner Award, and Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award.

Our competitions celebrate exceptional case writers, first-time case writers; the best case in our ‘hot topic’ category; a remarkable compact case; and outstanding case teaching achievements.

View our 2020 winners