Our website is having a makeover! www.thecasecentre.org will be unavailable from 10h (BST) on Saturday 31 July until 17h on Sunday 1 August while our team makes the new site live.

The Case Centre Awards 2019

Trio of awards collected by ICFAI in Hyderabad


(left to right) Sid Ghosh, Richard McCracken, Dr C. Rangarajan, Dr J Mahender Reddy, Debapratim Purkayastha

The Case Centre Director Richard McCracken visited IBS Case Research Center in India on Friday 8 November, where he presented a trio of 2019 Case Awards, and delivered the 8th N J Yasaswy Memorial Lecture on the topic of Teaching Cases: Vision, Realisation and Impact.

ICFAI Business School enjoyed success in the Outstanding Compact Case (Debapratim Purkayastha and Sid Ghosh), Human Resource Management/Organisational Behaviour (Purkayastha) and Knowledge, Info and Comm Systems Management (Purkayastha and Adapa Srinivasa Rao) categories.

The prizes were presented at the 8th N J Yasaswy Memorial Lecture in Hyderabad, where ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education’s Dr J Mahender Reddy (Vice Chancellor) and Dr C. Rangarajan (Chancellor) also spoke before attending faculty and prize winners.

ICFAIDr Reddy said: “We are very proud of the recognition accorded to these three cases in winning highly regarded Case Centre Awards. I congratulate the prize winners and also pay tribute to the work of the IBS Case Research Centre under Professor Purkayastha.”

Debapratim and Sid won the Outstanding Compact Case competition with their innovative Turbulence on the Tarmac cartoon case. Debapratim also won the HRM/OB and Knowledge award categories – the latter with Adapa – for cases on Ritz-Carlton and Amazon.

ICFAIRichard added: “I was honoured by Dr Reddy’s invitation to speak about the case method at the 8th N J Yasaswy Memorial Lecture, and to present awards that illustrate The Case Centre’s dedication to supporting the contribution of case writers to the vitality, impact and diversity of the case method.

“I congratulate all four award-winners on their success. Each case is a deserving winner while for one author, Professor Purkayastha, to win three categories in our awards is an outstanding achievement.”

Share this page:

Do you have star quality?

Awards hands clapping

Take part in our annual awards and competitions and compete against the best in the world.

Our awards are presented to the most widely used cases across the globe in the past year in nine management categories and a free case category. We also present an Overall Winner Award, and Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award.

Our competitions celebrate exceptional case writers, first-time case writers; the best case in our ‘hot topic’ category; a remarkable compact case; and outstanding case teaching achievements.

View our 2021 winners

New products