The Case Centre Awards 2019

Authors delighted to be recognised


L-R: Jill Avery and Richard McCracken

Alt textThe Case Centre Director Richard McCracken travelled to Boston on Monday 6 May to present a brace of 2019 Case Awards to three Harvard Business School professors.

Elie Ofek and Eric E Vogt were successful in the Marketing category while Jill Avery won the Overall accolade.


Elie, T.J. Dermot Dunphy Professor or Business Administration, and Eric, CEO of fine wine company eProvenance, teamed up to write Château Margaux: Launching the Third Wine, which proved the most popular Marketing case.

Elie explained: “The recognition this year that a particular piece of work has been especially well-received by the academic educator community is very rewarding.

Pierre“To know that one of my cases has had such a strong impact allows me to better gauge what type of materials are most effective. I hope to be able to keep working on cases that the community finds valuable.”

Jill won the Overall prize (pictured, right) with her case, Accor: Strengthening the Brand with Digital Marketing, which she produced with Chekitan S Dev and Peter O’Connor.

“This was truly a collaborative effort that combined Cheki’s deep hospitality industry knowledge with Peter’s digital disruption expertise and my branding, digital marketing, and marketing strategy focus,” said Jill, Senior Lecturer of Business Administration.

“For me, collaborating with other professors on case writing injects energy, fresh ideas, and new perspectives on business issues.”   

Read more about the winning cases here.

See all the prize winners

Share this page:

Do you have star quality?

Awards hands clapping

Take part in our annual awards and competitions and compete against the best in the world.

Our awards are presented to the most widely used cases across the globe in the past year in nine management categories and a free case category. We also present an Overall Winner Award, and Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award.

Our competitions celebrate exceptional case writers, first-time case writers; the best case in our ‘hot topic’ category; a remarkable compact case; and outstanding case teaching achievements.

View our 2021 winners

New products