The Richard Beckhard Memorial Prize

Each year the Richard Beckhard Memorial Prize is awarded to the authors of the most outstanding MIT Sloan Management Review article on planned change and organizational development.

One of the founders and architects of the field of organizational development, Professor Richard Beckhard was a member of the MIT Sloan School of Management faculty for more than 20 years. A long-time friend of the MIT Sloan Management Review, Beckhard was known for his efforts to help organizations function in a more humane and high-performing manner and to empower people to be agents of change.

The prize was established in 1984 by the faculty of the MIT Sloan School of Management upon Professor Beckhard's retirement and renamed the Richard Beckhard Memorial Prize after his death on 28 December 1999.


Click on a product title to view further details and, if eligible, an educator preview copy.


The Corporate Implications of Longer Lives
Lynda Gratton and Andrew Scott
Ref SMR58304


Achieving Meritocracy in the Workplace
Emilio J. Castilla, MIT Sloan School of Management
Ref SMR57421


Accelerating Projects By Encouraging Help
Christoph Loch, Cambridge Judge Business School
Fabian J Sting, University of Cologne and Rotterdam School of Management
Dirk Stempfhuber, Roto Frank
Ref SMR56302


Combining Purpose With Profits
Julian Birkinshaw, London Business School
Nicolai J. Foss, Copenhagen Business School and the Norwegian School of Economics in Bergen
Siegwart Lindenberg, University of Groningen and Tilburg University
Ref SMR55315


Making Mergers Work
Hamid Bouchikhi, ESSEC Business School
John R. Kimberly, Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia/div>
Ref SMR54118


Eoin Whelan, Kemmy Business School, University of Limerick
Salvatore Parise, Babson College
Jasper de Valk, VODW
Rick Aalbers, Deloitte Consulting and University of Groningen
Ref SMR53108


Rob Cross and Peter Gray, McIntire School of Commerce, University of Virginia
Shirley Cunningham, Monsanto
Mark Showers, Reinsurance Group of America Inc.
Robert Thomas, Institute for High Performance, Accenture
Ref SMR52121


John Shook
Lean Enterprise Institute, Inc
Ref SMR51211


Martin Hoegl Professor and Holger Ernst
WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management
Ref SMR50412


Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield and Andrew Shimberg
VitalSmarts LC
Ref SMR50113


Bridging the Gap Between Stewards and Creators
Robert D. Austin, Harvard Business School, USA
Richard L. Nolan, Harvard Business School, USA and University of Washington Business School, USA
Ref SMR48209


Improving Capabilities Through Industry Peer Networks
Stoyan V. Sgourev and Ezra W. Zuckerman
MIT Sloan School of Management, USA
Ref SMR47210


John A. Pearce II and Jonathan P. Doh
Villanova University, USA
Ref SMR46309


Managing Organizational Forgetting
Pablo Martin de Holan, Instituto de Empresa, Spain
Nelson Phillips, University of Cambridge, UK
Thomas B. Lawrence, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Ref SMR4529


Integrating the Enterprise
Sumantra Ghoshal and Lynda Gratton
London Business School, UK
Ref SMR4413 
Share this page:

Find prize winners

Search online
Our product search is designed to help you find prizewinning cases (award winners, competition winners and best sellers).
  • click on the product search tab in the navigation menu directly above this box to drop down the search form
  • enter your search keywords
  • select the prize winner tick box
  • click the search button to generate a list of cases that match your search criteria